Dear Dr. Soon-Shiong: It's been a year since you bought The Times. It's also been a year since we began bargaining


Dear Dr. Soon-Shiong,

It’s been a year since you bought the Los Angeles Times, and we wanted to thank you again.

When the story of our revival is told decades from now, our return to local ownership will be remembered as the turning point. As media outlets across the country teetered on the edge of collapse, we worried we would lose our jobs and Los Angeles would lose its paper of record.

What a difference a year makes. We are incredibly proud of the progress we’ve made together. Thanks to your investment, the determination and loyalty of our staff, and the L.A. Times Guild’s fight to control our own future, The Times is ascendant again.

Three of our journalists won the Pulitzer Prize for investigative reporting, the 45th in our history. We have more time and resources to cover the issues that matter to our readers, at home, in Washington, across the nation and around the world. Your support has given us a fighting chance to build a sustainable business. The feeling in the newsroom is not just one of hope, but of ambition.

It’s also been a year since we began negotiating our first contract under the L.A. Times Guild. We want to resolve the negotiations so we can focus on what we do best: great journalism.

We know our newsroom still faces economic challenges, and you’ll notice that the crucial issues remaining on the table involve basic job protections for the journalists who are doing the hard work of rebuilding The Times.

Given the history in our industry and our own newsroom of outsourcing work to contractors and freelancers, we are asking for reasonable guardrails to protect our journalists and our work.

Your commitment to keeping The Times in your family for the next century was welcome news for a community that wanted a return to local ownership after two decades of executive turnover and lack of investment. We’ve asked for a successorship agreement that ensures a smooth transition and basic protections for our journalists in case of any unexpected changes.

If we do face layoffs, we want to ensure that severance is competitive for journalists who have dedicated their professional lives to The Times or have moved their families across the country to be a part of our next chapter.

We’re hopeful that, with steady and determined leadership, The Times can remain a strong voice for decades to come. Thank you for your commitment to our future, and the future of journalism.


Bettina Boxall

Liam Dillon

Andy Nguyen

Maloy Moore

Matt Pearce

Andrew Khouri

Jaweed Kaleem

Kyle Kim

Laura J. Nelson

Ben Oreskes

Kristina Bui

Hugo Martin

Mariel Garza

Jad El Reda

Evan Halper

Danielle Parenteau Decker

Nathan Fenno

Colleen Shalby

Chris Megerian

Carolina A. Miranda

Geoffrey Mohan

Brian Park

Sarah Parvini

Edmund Sanders

Glenn Whipp

Kevin Ueda

Jon Schleuss

Jessica Roy

Samantha Masunaga

Reed Johnson

R. Marina Levario

Maria La Ganga

Carla Hall

Maya Lau

Adrienne Shih

Jared Servantez

Jay L. Clendenin

Anthony Pesce

Alex Wigglesworth

Nicole Santa Cruz

Margot Roosevelt

Sam-Omar Hall

Sean Greene

Lynn Meersman

Kent K. Nishimura

Bill Shaikin

Andrea Castillo

Blake Hennon

Laura Newberry

Emily Alpert Reyes

Jade Cuevas

Lisa Boone

Matt Fleischer

Claire Hannah Collins

Adriana Lacy

Gerard Lim

Jason H. Neubert

Gustavo Arellano

Angela Jamison

Ben Mims

Melanie Mason

Steve Eames

Gerrick Kennedy

Priya Krishnakumar

Rebecca Bryant

Paige St. John

Cindy Carcamo

Raul Roa

Ryan Faughnder

Matt Hamilton

Randall Roberts

Hamlet Nalbandyan

Teresa Watanabe

August Brown

Esmeralda Bermudez

Jessica Martinez

Julia Sclafani

Jason Clark

Brittany Hite

Jim Buzinski

Christine Mai-Duc

Phil Willon

Paul Ybarrondo

Robert Lloyd

Anh Do

Kurtis Lee

Mary Kate Metivier

Vanessa Martínez

Paul Pringle

Jessica Chen

Kiera Feldman

Jeanette Marantos

Sammy Roth

Courtney Lewis

Denise Florez

Lauren Raab

Michael Ottey

Cindy Chang

Marisa Gerber

Paul Feldman

Alexa Díaz

Dania Maxwell

Todd Martens

Luke Money

Del Quentin Wilber

Jennifer Haberkorn

Jackie Calmes

David Lazarus

David Montero

Deborah Vankin

Eduardo M. Gonzalez

Matthew Cooper

Christopher Reynolds

Adam Tschorn

Thomas Curwen

Andrew J. Campa

Christopher Knight

David Cloud

Tara Paniogue

David Zahniser

Noam N. Levey

Paul Thornton

Makeda Easter

Frank Shyong

Suhauna Hussain

Sandhya Kambhampati

Justin Chang

J. Brady McCollough

Alison Dingeldein

Christopher Goffard

Steve Saldivar

Carlos Santana

Roger Vincent

Iris Lee

Erika D. Smith

Rubaina Azhar

Martina Ibanez

Kim Christensen

Ben Brazil

Dakota Smith

Carlos Lozano

Hannah Fry

Andrea Roberson

Meredith Blake

Johana Bhuiyan

Paloma Esquivel

Jessica Gelt

Christie D’Zurilla

Mark Puente

Melissa Gomez

Tessa A. Bangs

Lauren Flynn

James Queally

Dorany Pineda

Nita Lelyveld

Ricardo DeAratanha

Calvin Alagot

Tony Barboza

Hillary Davis

Steve Lopez

Rachel Schnalzer

Lila Seidman

Ruben Vives

Kelly Corrigan

Daniel Miller

Elena Howe

Eduard Cauich

Sara Cardine

Jack Dolan

Ryan Menezes

Diana Marcum

Sergio Burstein

Mark Z. Barabak

Anthony Clark Carpio

Matt Stiles

Michael Finnegan

Al Seib

Anna M. Phillips

Diya Chacko

Andrew Greif

Gale Holland

Fidel Martínez

Melissa Etehad

Sonali Kohli

Josh Rottenberg

Jenny Jarvie

Brian van der Brug

Rong-Gong Lin II

Diego Medrano

Robin Abcarian

Austin Knoblauch

Noah Bierman

Eli Stokols

George Skelton

Elsie Ramos

Betty Chavarria

Alan Zarembo

David Lewis

Ben Poston

Sam Dean

Julia Wick

Tracy Wilkinson

Craig Marks

Janet Hook

Allison Mann

Seema Mehta

Don Lee

Molly O’Toole

Scott Wilson

Deborah Netburn

Jeffrey Fleishman

Molly Hennessy-Fiske

Jevon Phillips

An Amlotte

Anne Harnagel

Paul Duginski

Melody Petersen

Soumya Karlamangla

Mark E. Potts

Joel Rubin

Amy Kaufman

Tracy Brown

Kailyn Brown

Wendy Lee

Ben Bolch

Alene Tchekmedyian

Valerie Hood

Geoff Berkshire

Stuart Leavenworth

Vincent Nguyen

David Pierson

Hailey Branson-Potts

Brittny Mejia

Joe Serna

Richard Winton

Victoria Hernandez

Kevin Chang

Mark Olsen

Judith Pryor

Jaclyn Cosgrove

Rosanna Xia

Dan Santos

Steve Devol

Nardine Saad

Randy Lewis

Jeff Miller

Christian Orozco

Carla Rivera

Lisa Horowitz

Mikael Wood

Casey Miller

Dave Bowman

Mel Melcon

Mike Faneuff

Lucas Peterson

Minh Dang

Andrew T. Turner

Sue Worrell

Anne Elisabeth Dillon

Lynn Meersman

Angel Jennings

Taryn Luna

Adam Elmahrek

Kelcie Pegher

Louis Sahagun

Richard Read

Neal Leitereg

Harriet Ryan

Barbara Demick

Bakr Muhammad

Don Ragland

Yvonne Villarreal

Johana Bhuiyan

Agnus Dei Farrant

Sonja Sharp

Richard Martin

Jill-Marie Jones

Irfan Khan

Greg Braxton

Kevin Leung

Nancy Rivera Brooks

Jack Flemming

Rachel Dunn

John Penner

Craig Nakano

Jessica Perez

Charles McNulty

Nick Leyva

Fernando Dominguez

Lee Rogers

Dwayne Rogers

Allen J. Schaben

Adam Elmahrek

Nani Sahra Walker

James Kim

Matt Brennan

Ashley Lee

Joe Mozingo

Robert Gauthier